Faceplams Faceplams:  0
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4
Results 91 to 98 of 98

Thread: Quake

  1. #91
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,984
    Mentioned
    200 Post(s)
    Has anyone got a reliable way to get the soundtrack to play with Quake on Steam?

    This might be a tech question

  2. #92
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Chekhov, Russia
    Posts
    1,864
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by sheepdean View Post
    This might be a tech question
    Did you buy the game there out of the blue? You're in for some work. They got guides, for example, https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfil.../?id=119489135

  3. #93
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,984
    Mentioned
    200 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BenAkenobi View Post
    Did you buy the game there out of the blue? You're in for some work. They got guides, for example, https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfil.../?id=119489135
    I have the CD, but I'm on Win10 so that's just not gonna happen. I realised I've had it in my library forever, tried playing it and no audio

  4. #94
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,016
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Last time i played this was on the SEGA Saturn...that's going back a bit!

  5. #95
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    321
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by sheepdean View Post
    Has anyone got a reliable way to get the soundtrack to play with Quake on Steam?

    This might be a tech question
    The best way to do this on a modern computer is to use a source port of Quake, not the official release. I'm away from my computer right now, but when I have access to it I'll let you know my set up to play it. If I recall correctly, it wasn't very difficult, and it doesn't require a CD at all if you have digital music files.

  6. #96
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    321
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by sheepdean View Post
    Has anyone got a reliable way to get the soundtrack to play with Quake on Steam?

    This might be a tech question
    Okay, here it is: https://mega.nz/#!sYEiSSYA!65Dq0zyaZ...m-uqC1fXg-b-f0

    It comes with the soundtrack, so you don't need a CD or files. All you do is run the unpacker in the folder you want, then run the .bat file it unpacks in that folder. It uses the source port DarkPlaces which you can read about here :https://icculus.org/twilight/darkplaces/
    It's essentially exactly the same as the original release, but runs on an updated engine with more options. This is the only way I've played Quake for years; it's hard to go back after you get all the new rendering and key-binding options. If you run into any problems, there's a FAQ on the site to help and to explain some of the new options.

  7. #97
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    W/A
    Posts
    1,094
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by theimage13 View Post
    Hopefully you at least caught the joke in my post...

  8. #98
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    526
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by zecho View Post
    Okay, here it is: https://mega.nz/#!sYEiSSYA!65Dq0zyaZ...m-uqC1fXg-b-f0

    It comes with the soundtrack, so you don't need a CD or files. All you do is run the unpacker in the folder you want, then run the .bat file it unpacks in that folder. It uses the source port DarkPlaces which you can read about here :https://icculus.org/twilight/darkplaces/
    It's essentially exactly the same as the original release, but runs on an updated engine with more options. This is the only way I've played Quake for years; it's hard to go back after you get all the new rendering and key-binding options. If you run into any problems, there's a FAQ on the site to help and to explain some of the new options.
    I played through it using darkplaces about a decade ago, it was quite a treat.

Posting Permissions