Faceplams Faceplams:  0

Thread: The Audiobook Thread

Mentioned
    95 Post(s)

The Audiobook Thread

I'm new to audiobooks, having avoided them for a long time.
    But now I have realized I can get other shit done whilst listening to books.

I find by listening to a book it's easier to get distracted and zone out and miss chunks of text. But it's a good way of getting a sense of a book in a shorter amount of time than reading it would take.

What are the best places to find them?
    I had a bad experience with audible.com: I joined up for a specific version of an audiobook shown as available on their site; then I was told it was only for UK territories.

Currently listening to this: https://librivox.org/the-last-man-by-mary-shelley/
    It's a volunteer/public domain site: some of the readers are fine, others can't read for shit or have a thick accent making comprehension difficult.

Mentioned
    732 Post(s)
    I've heard that despicable unscrupulous people find them on The Pirate Bay.
    I've even heard that they then download them to my...i mean...their... phones and listen to them on long trips.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by elevenism View Post
    I've heard that despicable unscrupulous people find them on The Pirate Bay.
    I've even heard that they then download them to my...i mean...their... phones and listen to them on long trips.
    I've heard this too! Seriously, audible is so overpriced they are screaming at youto acquire them via other means.

I listened to the audiobook of A Scanner Darkly read by Paul Giamatti a bunch of times, loved it.

Mentioned
    732 Post(s)
    I got a big kick out of Revival by Stephen King, and also his new short story Drunken Fireworks, which is read by a comedian/humorist who REALLY kills it on creating voices for the drunk characters

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    I get audiobooks from the public library. They have CDs as well as playaways and oodles of digital downloads.

Mentioned