PDA

View Full Version : [Music] The Guitar Thread

elevenism
12-24-2015, 03:22 PM
Do you play guitar?
And what sort do you own?

both of my parents play, so i started early, at seven years old. i'm 35, so that's 28 years.

i'm not as good as i should be, but i'll go out on a limb and say that i'm PRETTY fucking good.

I just got this acoustic electric fender gc140. it's got a DEEP cutaway, and i swear to god the neck feels like an electric.

but it's LOUD.

So do you play? How long have you been playing? What's your favorite guitar etc etc yam yam yam...

Vertigo
12-24-2015, 03:58 PM
I've been playing with varying intensity for 5 years (am now 30), and I'll go out on a limb and say that I suck like an opened dropship bay airlock on a Colonial Marine transport ship. I'm still learning new techniques, and have negligible ability to hold a song in my head (not that I try particularly hard - I'm usually either playing basic stuff in guitar class or reading note prompts in Rocksmith), and am currently trying to get my head around music theory.

I have two guitars, one electric and one classical. Electric guitar's a white Squier Strat with Deluxe parts, it's got decent sustain and power for a budget guitar, but the sixth string buzzes easily.
Classical guitar is cheap too, but it's just lovely - an absolutely beautiful, clear, melodious sound that carries well, with lots of low-frequency. Even my amateurish fumblings sound godlike on it. Only downside is that the frets above 12 are on the body, so are barely usable. It's an Aria AK 200, and I'd recommend it without hesitation.

:edit for pics:

http://i705.photobucket.com/albums/ww57/LordVertigo/Forum%20stuff/squier_zpsauiwdnlc.jpg http://i705.photobucket.com/albums/ww57/LordVertigo/Forum%20stuff/aria_zpswbjfriuq.jpg

elevenism
12-25-2015, 05:06 AM
Those are pretty guitars, @Vertigo (http://www.echoingthesound.org/community/member.php?u=628)

and i doubt you suck, if you are taking lessons and learning music theory.